Canberra Matrix and ACT Critical List

ACT critical list.webp

Canberra Matrix

Canberra Matrix is a score-based system that is different from that of the subclass 189  points calculation.

The ACT Occupation List was replaced by the ACT Critical Skills List on the 19 August 2020.

Therefore, you must go through the Canberra Matrix system if you are interested in applying for the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) nomination under the skilled migration streams:

  • Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa – subclass 491

  • Skilled Nominated (Permanent) visa – subclass 190

By completing the ‘Canberra Matrix’, you will get the scores against demonstrated economic contribution or benefit and genuine commitment to be part of the ACT community.

Before you apply for ACT nomination, you are required to complete the SkillSelect from the Department of Home Affairs and have to meet their requirement, which is 65 points.

  • If you are one of the top candidates with the highest scores, you will be selected and invited to apply for the ACT nomination.

Your Matrix score will not necessarily be ranked as the demand for ACT nomination greatly exceeds the number of nomination places available each year.

ACT Critical Skills List

Cap on Occupations

The number of ACT nomination places may be capped for each occupation on the ACT Critical Skills List. Invitations may not be issued when the monthly cap for an occupation is reached. See ACT Critical Skills List.


Download the August 2020 ACT Critical Skills List to see limited numbers of ACT nomination places available this month.

In regards to any Migration inquiry/Visa options or Study related query, book an online Consultation:


343 Little Collins Street 

Melbourne VIC 3000

Level 7, Suite 715 - 716


0405 455 972

0474 723 320

0403 534 902


Office Hours : 9 am - 6 pm Mon - Fri.

Closed on public holidays

© 2020 RACC Australia; Migration Agent Registration Number (MARN) 1572961 & 1172003