Border Restrictions: State by State Announcement


Note: This article is updated on November 4, 2020, but should not be treated as legal advice.


Borders currently open to : QLD, ACT, SA, WA, NT, NSW

Borders currently closed to : VIC

  • Tasmania will ease border restrictions for people traveling from Queensland, the Australian Capital Territory, South Australia, Western Australia, and the Northern Territory from October 26 based on current Public Health advice.

  •  The announcement by the Tasmanian Government states that travel to and from New South Wales is set to recommence as of Monday, November 6 — subject to that state's COVID-19-status

  • Borders with Victoria remain closed until at least December 1, but the situation is under review. Border restrictions will also remain in place for people traveling from 

  • Up until October 26, current travel restrictions remain in place and all travelers need to seek approval before entering the state


Borders open to : All states except for *special exemptions*

  •  Tasmania likely to open up to victoria from December 1, subjected to COVID-19 status

  • Despite Victoria technically being fully open, the state is now effectively closed off to the rest of Australia because of bans in every other state. 

  • Residents returning from other states don’t have to quarantine at home but may be subject to other restrictions

  • Metropolitan Melbourne and  Regional Victoria is currently under the Third Step towards COVID-Normal 

(read more


Borders currently open to : QLD, ACT, SA, WA, NT

Borders will reopen to VIC on 23 November

  • Excluding Victoria, NSW is open to all states. Anyone who wants to enter NSW from Victoria needs to apply for a permit.

  •  Residents of NSW can return but will be required to quarantine in a hotel. 



Borders currently open to : ACT, SA, WA, NT, ACT, NSW

Borders currently closed to: VIC

  • The state is closed to all of Victoria, which are designated COVID-19 hotspot areas. Queensland residents from these areas can return but must quarantine at a “government arranged hotel” when they’re back. 

  • However, the state opened to the ACT on 25 September. Visitors must fly, rather than drive, across the border to avoid traveling through NSW, which has been deemed as a hotspot.

  • Visitors from NSW are permitted to enter the states through the 32LGAs (Local Government Areas)


Borders currently open to : NSW, QLD, ACT, SA, NT, VIC


Borders currently open to : QLD, SA, WA, NT, NSW

*Borders currently closed to : VIC*

  • People who have been in Victoria during the past 14 days are banned from entering the ACT, except for ACT residents and those who have an exemption. 

  • People from selected hotspot areas are advised not to visit or work in high-risk settings, including aged care facilities, hospitals, and correctional facilities, for a period of 14 days after leaving these areas. 


Borders currently open to : NSW, QLD, ACT, SA, WA, VIC

  • The territory is now open to all of Australia unless the area is part of COVID hotspots (Greater Melbourne)

  •  Australians from these hotspots can enter, however must undertake quarantine at a designated facility that charges $2,500


Borders currently open to : QLD, ACT, NSW, WA, NT

*Borders currently closed to : VIC*

  • Travelers from ACT, NSW, NT, Queensland, Tasmania, and WA are able to enter South Australia directly without the requirement for COVID-19 testing or 14-day self-quarantine upon arrival.

  • Residents of border communities in Victoria can also enter SA if they reside within 40km of the border for essential purposes only.

Read more to find out more about all state sponsor updates:

 In regards to your PR pathway, Migration, Professional Year, Visa, or Study/Course-related query,

Book your FREE Online Consultation with us: