New Skilled Regional Visas to be introduced: Subclass 491, 494 and the 191 PR visa

 The Federal Government has introduced three new regional visas: subclass 491, 494 and 191.


At the commencement of the new regional provisional visas, it is intended that the designated regional areas will include all of Australia except for Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Brisbane, and the Gold Coast.


According to the Migration Amendment (New Skilled Regional Visas) Regulations 2019, these three new visas will come into effect on 16 November 2019:

  • Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491) – a points-tested visa for applicants nominated by a state or territory government agency or sponsored by an eligible family member residing in a designated regional area

  • Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 494) – an employer-sponsored visa with two streams: Employer-Sponsored and Labour Agreement

  • Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) visa (subclass 191) for people who hold a subclass 491 or a subclass 494 visa at the time of application.

Meanwhile, the current Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) will be closed and superseded by subclass 491. The current Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme visa (subclass 187) will be closed and superseded by subclass 494.


It worth to note that there is no impact on people who make a valid visa application for Subclass 489 or Subclass 187 which is to be closed, before 16 November 2019. Subclass 489 visa holders will continue to be able to access the Subclass 887 PR visa, subject to satisfying existing criteria.


343 Little Collins Street 

Melbourne VIC 3000

Level 7, Suite 715 - 716

Office Hours : 9 am - 6 pm Mon - Fri.

Closed on public holidays

© 2020 RACC Australia

    Migration Agent Registration Number (MARN) 1572961 & 1172003


0405 455 972

0474 723 320

0403 534 902