NSW Skilled Regional Visa

Earlier this week, NSW has been provided a full allocation of nomination places for the 2020–21 financial year.

By Home Affairs direction, NSW will continue to focus on nominating applicants undertaking work in critical sectors. These applicants are a priority for the Government to support economic recovery following the impacts of COVID-19.

In line with Home Affairs' direction, NSW will only invite applicants in selected Health, ICT, and Engineering occupations, And, who currently resides in NSW.

Subclass 190 (Skilled Nominated Visa)

If you meet the above-mentioned criteria, you now may be eligible to apply for NSW subclass 190.

Subclass 491 (Skilled Work Regional Visa)

Subclass 491 will open from February 2021. The criteria for application will remain the same. It is advisable, that if you potentially seek to apply for either of these subclasses, you should start preparing your documents and be ready for the application process.

Download the Subclass 491 (Skilled Work Regional Visa 2020-21) Occupation List

RACC Australia can help you in regards to the Application process and lodging your EOI (Expression of Interest).


  • RACC Education & Migration Services

  • 20 years of experience

  • We can help you with applying for all Visa and Courses

  • No service charge for student visa application*

  • 4.9 out of 5 customer satisfaction (Google Rating)

  • Our Team speak multiple languages

English, Mandarin, Cantonese, Indonesia, Malay, Bangla, Tagalog, Vietnamese, etc.​

​Book your Free Consultation with RACC Australia - Education and Migration Services:

Criteria for subclass 491

NOTE: You must meet all the criteria in one of the three following streams (Stream 1, Stream 2, and Stream 3) to be eligible for NSW nomination

Stream 1. Living and working in regional NSW;

Stream 2. Recently completed study in regional NSW; or

Stream 3. Living and working outside of NSW

Categories for Stream 3
Living and Working outside of NSW

For non-residents of NSW, the updated nomination criteria are as stated below: 

To be eligible for NSW nomination under this stream you must meet all the criteria for at least one of the following categories (Category A, Category B, Category C)

Category A

 Job offer in regional NSW

To be eligible for NSW nomination under this category you must:

  • hold a valid skills assessment for an occupation that appears on your nominated region's occupation list;

  • have an offer for ongoing employment that is:

    • in the Applicant's nominated occupation, or a closely related occupation; and

    • for a minimum term of 12 months and 35 hours of work per week;

  • have an offer for ongoing employment from an employer that is:

    • located in a designated regional area in NSW; and

    • registered in Australia.

Category B

At least five years of skilled employment experience (offshore Applicants)